Tuesday, July 10, 2007

On the Move (Again)

So the end of this month our lease is up on our current apartment and it looks like we're finally going to be able to move out of there. We had a line on a very nice, slightly smaller and cheaper two bedroom a few weeks ago but the albatross around my neck I laughingly refer to as my credit report put the keebash on that. Oh, well. Then we got a line on a one bedroom that a member of our church had to move out of to get into supportive care and our bishop was kind enough to intercede with the landlord to get us in there without a detailed credit history. (The last two years have not been kind monitarily, you see.) This is fortunate in that we'll be saving around $400 a month on rent, but a challenge since we're moving from 1200 sq.ft. to 700 sq.ft. - and MLM is claustrophobic anyway.

Luckily, the bedroom and living room are good sized; which means, of course, that the kitchen is tiny! Ack! Just off the kitchen is the "dining area" which is just 7' x 7'-9" - you could swing a cat in there I suppose but it would be a tight squeeze. So, I have christened this area the Kitchen Annex. In it we will place our small upright freezer, the pantry shelves from Ikea, and the computer desk - then hide it from the living room with a screen or two. Actually, that will be living/dining room now. It's a 12' x 17' space so we're putting our nice dining set at one end and then just a sleeper-sofa and a chair or two at the other end. We're definitely going Japanese here - any clutter will just add to the instanity. Pray for us.

Anyway, with the money saved on rent and the reduced van payment mentioned earlier, we will be able to get out of this hole we're in. Shouldn't take more than two years.

Oh, and Kelly is getting married in October! Yea! Congratulations to her and Jason! I just hope we'll have the money to get to Boston for the service. It looks like it's gonna be close, particularly since I won't even be able to make plane reservations until the middle of August and who knows what they'll cost by then. Right now paying the current price will be like passing a kidney stone (so I'm told - never actually done that), and they probably won't be going down. Again, fingers crossed and pray!

Last night I gathered up all my spare computer equipment, a Lionel car and assorted accessories and other things I was really hoping to hold on to, photographed them, and am now putting them up on eBay to raise cash for the move. Wish me luck there. Thanks!

Just finished watching the anime series NOIR - wow! Really good! Gotta share that with MLM soon. Am now working on Ghost in the Shell, Stand Alone Complex, 2nd Gig - very good too. Watched the first season of Stand Alone Complex last month and really enjoyed it. The series has so much more depth than the two Ghost in the Shell movies. Oh, and next time I need to talk about the wonderful world of FanSubs, so don't let me forget. Special stuff there.

Well, I better knock off for now and head home to pack.

"Nowhere to go but up."