So after a week on a job I love with a great company and great people, and the guy who left three months ago came back asked for his old job back with a cut in pay and they said sure and let the contractor (me) go today. So, I'm back on the street again, looking for a job. Spent the rest of the day online checking the job boards and searching the lists of openings at places I'd like to work. After burning out from sending several dozen resumes and filling out those delightful online corporate job apps for the umpteenth time, I made a list of other places to hit first thing tomorrow after discussing the possibilities with MLM. Then I took a pain-killer (my shoulder was killing me by this time) and took a short nap.
Dinner was nice. I grilled some of the excellent brats from our meat market and glazed a pan-full of carrots. Yummy.
So now we're spending the evening enjoying our late dinner and watching a new anime series. Ah, the mixed joys of idleness!
Kinda got out of the habit of watching the Olympics - there's only so much beach volleyball I can take! This is a frickin' Olympic event?! And they're dropping softball just because the US team dominated for the last four times? I seem to recall the Russian pairs figure skaters getting the gold for, like, three decades and they still have that. Go figure. One of the guys that works a bit for MegaTokyo reporting he's in Korea this week and really enjoying the Olympics. Here's how he put it: "Best thing about watching the Olympics overseas: No hint of gymnastics coverage anywhere, and no 10-minute human interest interludes. Just the sports, ma'am. I've seen more judo, fencing, and archery over the past 4 days than I've ever seen in my life." Sounds good to me. Oh, and I mentioned last time that we'll have to wait for the DVD to see the whole openinig ceremony without commercials; well, they started advertising it on NBC so I checked it out at their 'store' - $30 for a two disk set! Ack!! Guess I'll wait for eBay or NetFlix or the library and rip my own copy. Oh, not really. That would be wrong.
As Rosanne said when the lights went out in their house, "Well, middle-class was fun."
Tuesday, August 19, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment