Friday, October 10, 2008

Another Friday Comes and Goes

Well, we didn't make it to Chicago for the doctor appointments after all. After picking up some prescriptions earlier this week and putting gas in the van, we determined that we had just enough gas to get us there and back and not enough money for parking. At one office the parking's only $5.00, but the other office is twice that. I don't have enough cash for that (and nothing on a card) so I would just have to park on the street. Well, MLM hates that because she fears the van will get sideswiped or something. I think that's more likely in the parking garage since the spaces are so small and the corners so tight. The upshoot is that if we had gone we'd be totally broke with no gas until next Wednesday - sheesh! Anyway, I called, canceled, and rescheduled. Also called the surgeon's office to let them know we'll need to reschedule her surgery too.

So the economy is still getting worse too. What a mess! I read the DOW lost 19% this last week which is the most it's lost in one week in history. Whee - they're breaking records every day! Why? Because there was no oversight on home loans and other investment paper and we invaded Iraq for no reason other than to squander billions of dollars, thousands of young lives, and to insure W got elected to a second term. Well, at least that worked didn't it? Sad to say. We were talking about it a few days ago and realized our lives started heading downhill after 9/11. That's when I had my first layoff from a company that looked as strong a Gibralter, and it's been the same cycle ever since. I guess the one to really blame for where we are now is, ironically, Ralph Nader! If he hadn't screwed up the election in 2000 for Gore things would be a whole lot better today. Oh well. Haven't had a good ol' world-wide depression in 80 years now. I guess we're due.

I'm pulling a lot of DVDs we don't watch anymore and posting them on eBay. The few I did last week sold briskly so I can hopefully scare up some extra cash this way.

Made good progress on the living room today, then made some killer stroganoff for dinner. Then called Kelly to wish her a happy birthday -- had to leave a voice-mail as she was probably out celebrating. Feel pretty crappy that all we could send her this year was a nice e-card. Man, it sucks being broke!

Just finished the bulletin for church on Sunday and mailed it out for approval. I've doing that for MLM lately since it's getting harder for her to type for any length of time. Now we (me really, she's sleeping finally - been awake for about 30 hours) are watching Spirited Away - really love this film. The English dub is excellent and the animation is so natural; particulary for Chihiro, the little girl, her movements and behavior are spot-on for her age. It's a good anime. Recommended by me, to you. Get it? Good.

Gotta go. I'm tired.

No comments: