I wept with joy tonight. The Obama-Biden ticket won the election! I breathe a sigh of relief and am once again filled with hope.
I recall how I felt eight years ago once it was finally announced (via Skull & Bones skulduggery, no doubt) that frat-boy Bush would be president. I was sad and fearful for our country. There were so many terrible things I was afraid would happen, but - sad to say - after eight years things are much worse than even I imagined. The wars, the economy, the loss of prestige for the USA around the world. It is truly a shame. I remember telling my folks back in 2000 that one reason I would never vote for Bush is because I believed our president should be at least as intelligent as myself, or even, say, a sophomore in high school. Bush is not that. I was thinking recently about that weird election and realized who is ultimately to blame! Ready? It is all the dumbheads who voted for Ralph Nader! Think of it: if they had ignored his argument that there was no difference in the two major parties (what a specious argument in retrospect) and then voted for Gore as most would have otherwise, then Gore would have won! IF 9/11 had still happened then, today we would NOT be in Iraq, Bin Laden would be dead, I would have a job, and the balanced budget Clinton left us when he left office would still be there and our economy would be healthy. Truth!
On the other hand, I was truly amazed at how many ostrich voters were in this country in 2004 to elect the idiot again! Of course, the reason he invaded Iraq was to insure his reelection; and it worked, didn't it? Over the years one thing that increased in this country has been a feeling of hopelessness. At least we can look forward to that coming to an end.
Now, I feel there are once again possibilities for me, my family, our country, and the world. I have been unemployed almost steadily since last November. On reflecting about the few interviews I've been to, I realize that the people I was talking to were fearful - so fearful for the future and their own jobs that they were fearful to hire the first qualified person because someone better might be available the next week. I interviewed for a tech job at Sears last week; the interview went very well and I could tell they liked me a lot. I was lacking in one programming language that I had had a semester of in college but had not had a need for at any job as yet. I told them I would get up to speed - on my own time if need be - so I could get the job. However, there was one more candidate they were to meet with who had extensive experience in this language, so I was told that they would keep me in mind for future openings. I just checked the job postings on their website, and guess what? The position is still open. So they didn't hire me or the other guy. Again, fear of commitment to a new employee who may not be perfect today, but could be in short order. Fear of risking such a hire. It's sad.
So many recruiters tell me their clients are all holding hiring freezes for the foreseeable future. Well, the future is here. I suspect I will be working again very soon. Employers won't be so fearful anymore - particularly if the credit markets open up again and they can get the capital they need to work with. Yep, that will be the proof that things are going to get better.
Although a full recovery is going to take a while - this Christmas season is going to be horrific for retailers. MLM was shopping online for possible presents for family and friends and we were amazed at the quality and quantity of items on sale; and I mean 50 to 75% off. I asked if this was last year's stock and she said no, new stuff for this season. And we realized what they were doing - unloading stock! All of them ordered their stock for this season around February and now they know they're going to be left with tons of product so they're selling all they can now so they won't be stuck with stuff when the next season products start arriving at the warehouses. If you've got some cash, now's the time to shop for Christmas. Don't wait.
Friday was an interesting day for me. I voted early at my library which was cool, and I only had to wait about an hour to do so - would have been much longer today. Also, it was Oct. 31st which was the day my chance to continue my health insurance from Manpower through COBRA expired. Manpower messed up on getting me into the system for COBRA qualification and I didn't get the paperwork until the end of September. By that time I owed three months of premiums (at $560 a month) to bring me current. The church had already told me they have to pull way back on assistance for us because there are so many more families they have to help now too, so that source was gone, and since I have no family or friends that can contribute any more than they already have (which has been a LOT, thank God) there was nothing for it but to let the time run out. I filled all my prescriptions on the 29th and as of Nov. 1st I'm one of those unemployed, uninsured people you read about in the news magazines. Pray I don't get sick or hit by a truck.
Wow, long-winded and emotionally up and down post for me. That's what happens when I post so rarely. I need to do this more often. So, since we are in the season of change, I will do that.
I wish any who read this Hope. It's a very valuable commodity. Hang on to yours.
Hope.
Tuesday, November 04, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment